WORKSPACE ADMINS CAN NOW DISABLE FILE AND PHOTO SHARING IN GOOGLE CHAT


Google Chat is a secure communications tool designed to provide easy business communications within the Google Workspace ecosystem. With Google Chat, teams collaborate via text, build collaborative chat rooms, share documents, deliver presentations, and establish web conferences.


Because some files can be considered confidential or sensitive in nature depending on the person viewing them, especially in regulated industries, Google is now allowing Workspace admins to completely disable file and photo sharing in Google Chat. Admins will also have the option of enabling just and only images or files if they wish.


By doing this, the flow of information inside and outside of an organization can remain protected and properly managed. Google states that one aspect of this that will not be affected is link sharing. Any items directly linked to via a URL (think Drive) in Chat will still be accessible to whoever has permission to view them.


What is a chat room?


A chat room is a location where multiple people can all talk at the same time. When in a chat room anything said is seen by all people participating in the chat room. To send a message to only one person in a chat room a PM (private message) or DM (direct message) can be sent.



Chat is text-based communication that is live or in real-time. For example, when talking to someone in chat any typed text is received by other participants immediately. In contrast, other text-based communications such as e-mail are modes of correspondence that are not real-time.


We are dedicated to helping businesses realize the potential of the cloud to help their businesses grow. For more details and other Google-based services such as Google Workspace, Google Cloud, Google Chrome, etc.


Do visit The Tech Mantra for the above services at thetechmantra.com


4 views